The Planted Tank Forum banner

Jasmine's low tech planted goldfish tank!

66K views 452 replies 53 participants last post by  xjasminex 
#1 ·
Hello All!
This is my first journal, i have been keeping goldfish for about four years now and i absolutely love them!
At the moment i have two fancy goldfish, they started out living in a 29 gallon tank after about three years i decided that they have come close to out growing their tank, so i bought them a fifty five gallon tank.

They love it!

But then i got hooked on plants and i just had make their tank planted! Hopefully it will reduce my water changes and provide a more healthy environment for them!

So after modifying my hood for my new light and going through the motions of setting up a dirt tank i have created this...

Specs:
55 gallon tank
Solarmax HE 2 bulb light fixture (2 10k t5no bulbs)
Miracle grow organic choice potting mix capped with pool filter sand
1 whisper ex 70
1 whisper ex 45 (both with homemade filter pads and purigen)
jager 150 heater

Flora:
Ludwigia Repens
Cryptocoryne Crispatula var. Balansae
Red jungle Val
Corkscrew val
Amazon sword
Cryptocoryne Wendtii Green
Water sprite
Cryptocoryne Retrospiralis
Dwarf Sag
Pennywort

Fauna:
Two fancy goldfish
Two albino cories
Pond snail
Nerite snail
Ramshorn snail

If i left anything out that you would like to know just say so!

See less See more
#2 ·
Fantastic! I bet you love those plants. I'm really glad you started this journal. I can't wait to see how both of our tanks turn out. Maybe someday we could start a group for planted goldfish people here. It would be cool to have them all linked.

#227 ·