Otocinclus Cocama - A Zebra's Journal - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 97 (permalink) Old 04-15-2011, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

Otocinclus Cocama - A Zebra's Journal

This is another journal for some of my Otocinclus friends; Otocinclus Cocama (a.k.a The Zebra Oto). Here I will attempt to document as much as possible about these little guys and my attempts to breed them in captivity. Granted, it's no easy task and I'm hoping that I will be able to leverage some of my success with Otocinclus Vittatus in this project.

HISTORY:
I'll give a brief history of the workings of this project. I have been breeding O. Vittatus for just shy of two years now. I have always been fascinated by these little guys and have kept them in every tank I have had.

The more I studied and researched, the more I wanted this project to be successfull to be able to offer captive raised Otos to the general public. As many of you know, they aren't treated very well from capture to our tanks. They are caught in the 1000s and usually shipped in bad conditions just to wind up at the LFS half starved to death. This leads to a very low survivability rate. Many unfortunately don't even survive the export.

Once the Vittatus started breeding, I wanted to expand it out to see if I could breed some of the other less commonly available species.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 97 (permalink) Old 04-15-2011, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

The Zebra is one of the most fascinating species by markings and character. I really wanted to attempt this but the pricing was just too much to fit the bill. Finally, one day, I just decided to go for it and made my first purchase of (5). Here they are after arrival: