The Planted Tank Forum banner

150g, Cichlid, low light aquarium

10K views 12 replies 11 participants last post by  macclellan 
#1 · (Edited)
I keep cichlid for a little while now.

Its my first try with plants.
I want to grow tons of plants in that one, so this first photo is literally a canvas for my aquascaping. Excuse those 2 temporary plastic plants at the left! :D

I want to create hills on both sides.

Substrate
3x 1 cubic foot of lava rocks
7x 22k of play sand.

Lighting, low tech

Filter
Rena xp3

Fish
8 Yellow labs
6 young Frontosa B.

Evolution
Starting point

Nov. 20th 2010

Dec 6th 2010
Night light

Dec 20th 2010

Anubias

See less See more
#10 ·
thx!

You mention a marine grow light to come, what is that? do some research on it, marine lights are not necessarily good for planted tanks, ie they may not provide lighting that the plants need/use
yeah, those are just for the fish, to make the colors pop. common in the cichlids tank.
It will be also my "dawn" and morning light.

You could look into fast-growing stems that may be able to out-grow nibbling, such as water wisteria (Hygrophila difformis) and hornwort
great info, I will get some this weekend!

Nice layout, harmony view,
the rocks are very pleasant
but one can feel that they
are too "heavy" for the scene.
cichlids = rocks. they need places to hide for reproduction and territory.
I want to grow plants on top of those.

Its been 3 years that I "grow" rocks :)

I agree, they look like Peace Lilies to me, too. And IME they'll do OK underwater for a while, but eventually will die unless their leaves are allowed to grow up out of the water.
indeed, I will remove those before it happen.

#3 ·