The Planted Tank Forum banner

29 Gallons Under the Sea

26K views 174 replies 23 participants last post by  puriance 
#1 · (Edited)
Welcome to a story of preparation and disaster. All tied up into a neat little bundle of "well crap’s" and “omgican'tbelieveijustdidthat’s".

Table of Contents:

20 Gallons Under The Sea

Moby Fish, the Saga Continues

I Can See Clearly Now, the Murk is Gone

Update #1 - Stability Can’t be Bought

Plans for My Tank

Update #2 - Let’s Go Fishin’

Update #3 - I Just Couldn't Leaf it Alone

Update #4 - You're Not Such a Fungi Afterall

Update #5 - Let's Shrimplify the Problem

Update #6 - A Herculean Task

Update #7 - A Little Piece of Heaven and Other Nursery Rhymes

Update #8 - Bigger is Better... Right?

Update #9 - A Tank in Need

Update #10 - It's ALIVE

Update #11 - I'll Just Skim Over the Good Bits

Update #12 - Bad Luck is Still Luck

Update #13 - A Lapse in Time

The Story

I'm a novice fishkeeper, compulsive plant-buyer and amazon aficionado. I have one dog, one cat, one husband and 5 cars. I'm an advanced procrastinator, obsessive researcher and deep end swimmer. I either dive right in or I couldn't care less.

Low-tech planted tanks have given me quite the board to dive off of. I came into a small gift of money, so what is there that is better to waste it on, than a beautiful aquascape.

I have spent the better part of these last couple weeks, researching for at least 4 hours (sometimes 6) a day on different setups, varying views and appropriate processes for creating my own aquatic masterpiece. This is mostly impressive because I have just entered midterms week, and I’m learning so much. Not that any of it has anything to do with my studies, but I’m learning right? (...right?)

Regardless, I was Inspired by images such as this:

And this:

And this: