Filtration: Finnex px360 canister
Heater: 50w
CO2: Custom build. Paintball tank, beer keg regulator, solenoid,
Soil: AS Amazonia
Hardscape: Seiryu stone, spider wood
Fertilization: Going to do EI
Flora:TBD need suggestions
Fauna: Thinking of CPD's or green tetras & Amano shrimp

Hello everyone. I am starting a new build and this is my first attempt at a high tech planted tank and the first time I have devoted any real energy into doing a beautiful aquascape. I keep large cichlids so they generally do most of the decorating themselves.

Here is what I have worked up so far. I want to go with a central group of rocks with roots seeming to have grown into the landscape over time. I am going to tie mosses to the branches along with some epiphytes. I want to do a carpet foreground which will likely be monte carlo but I need some suggestions for background plants and some midground plants along the sides of the rock formation to make things flow nicely. I am very open to suggestions on the hardscape and plant choices. Thanks for looking!

Here is a shot from above to see what I'm working with for areas to plant.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 05:36 AM
Algae Grower

You've fit that wood into the rockwork pretty perfectly.

Traditional scaping would suggest that hairgrass be in the back. I think it would be pretty interesting to use Rotala macranda or Alternanthera reineckii, but the leaves might be a bit too large for it to work. Same with using Staurogyne repens in the fore or midground. Perhaps Blyxa japonica and Rotala rotunifolia or walichii would be better.

Do you know what kinds of mosses and epiphytes you're looking at?
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 05:44 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower