The Planted Tank Forum banner

CG's 20L- Getting back into the hobby

3K views 18 replies 7 participants last post by  CobraGuppy 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone,

It's been a long four years break from the aquarium hobby while I was an undergrad in college, and I'm ready to come back!

Equipment:
Aqueon 20 gallon long
Finnex planted+ 24/7 30"
Eheim 2217 w/ generic glass lily pipes
Hydor 200W in-line heater w/ Finnex Max-300 heater controller
DIY stand painted black

Substrate:
Black diamond blasting sand

Hardscape:
Sandblasted manzanita branches

Fertilizers:
EI package from NilocG
Osmocote+
Excel

Flora: (will update as I go)
Anubias nana petite
Crypt wendtii green
Crypt wendtii bronze
Crypt parva
Hygrophila difformis
Limnophila aromatica 'mini Vietnam'
Microsorum pteropus 'windelov'
Myriophyllum mattogrossense

Fauna: (still deciding)
Bolivian rams (would prefer Apistos but can't find any locally yet)
Tetras (leaning towards black neons)
Otocinclus
Nerites
Amano shrimp

I didn't take very many pictures during set up because I got caught up in it, but here are two cellphone quality pics:

My goal for this tank is to keep it low/med tech for simple maintenance. The 2217 is a bit overkill, but I prefer overfiltration and it was cheap on craigstlist. The 24/7 is running around 50-60% intensity for a split 7 hour photoperiod. I'm using about 1/3rd of the regular EI dosing regime and dosing Excel daily. I plan on sticking with SA fish, although the plants will be whatever I can keep alive. The tank is currently cycling, so it'll be awhile before I add fish.

Thanks for looking!

See less See more
#10 ·
Thanks everyone! It's been awhile since I've updated this thread, and a lot has happened in almost two months. Here are some notable changes:

1. While I enjoyed the hardscape, I ended up removing a fair amount of the wood. BBA kept growing on it, especially near the tips, and I believe it was due to the wood being so close to the light.

2. I got fish! Current stocking: