17G Iwagumi Style Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

2Likes
  • 2 Post By Gongus

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-06-2016, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

17G Iwagumi Style Tank

Started my first planted tank about 2 months ago and figured I would create a journal to document my progress. Since this is my first time with a hi-tech planted tank, expect many rookie mistakes. The first couple of posts will be retroactive. Here are the stats:

Tank
ADA 60P

Lights
Chihiros Aquasky 36W LED. This is basically the Chinese knock-off of the ADA Aquasky. I love it so far.

Substrate
ADA Aquasoil Amazonia

Hardscape
5 Seiryu Stones (purchased from a fellow user of these forums)

CO2
Pressurized dual stage regulator. It was built by Alan Le originally, though i bought it second-hand from another user who had used it for a few months. I have it connected to a 2.5 lbs CO2 tank - it's what fits in my cabinet. I use an in tank ceramic diffuser (which I don't like at all).

Filter
Fluval G3
13mm Lily pipe outflow
17mm glass inflow pipe
I'm using Purigen instead of charcoal in the filter

Flora
S. Repens
Monte Carlo
DHG
I'm currently dosing with NiloG's Thrive all in one fert once or twice a week.

Fauna
5 neon tetras
5 Venezuelan pygmy Corys
2 otos
2 Peacock gudgeons
1 Glofish Danio (my four year old insisted)
1 nerite snail

I decided to do an Iwagumi tank because I really liked the look of the carpeting. I went with Monte Carlo for the carpet because by all accounts it was easier to grow than HC Cuba and would spread more quickly (this has worked out nicely). I also decided to add some areas with Repens for added interest and some clumps of DHG around and on top of the rocks (a decision I would come to regret. Being a neophyte I did not expect the DHG to spread so far out so quickly and to have to constantly trim it back to battle it or risk it overtaking the Monte Carlo carpet).