500G Conversion from Reef to Planted (56K?) - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 57 (permalink) Old 02-14-2010, 02:11 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
500G Conversion from Reef to Planted (56K?)

Well, this seems as good a time as any to start a journal as I'm just beginning this and starting to make a little technical progress even if I haven't touched the tank proper yet.

This is the tank I'm working with:

It's an ~500 Gallon tank, currently very poorly done reef. Has a handful of clown fish and damsel fish, one Tomato Clown, one very small white and brown sea cucumber, and a ton of snails. Harscape is all lace rock, Texas holey rock, and dead coral on a white sand bottom that is littered with chunks of dead algae, snail shells and urchin remains.

My plan is to go with a lightly planted african cichlid tank, probably Lake Victoria oe Lake Malawi. Since the tank is as tall as it is wide front to back I'm planning on re-scaping using the same rocks that are currently in place (minus the coral) and crating a multi-tiered cave system with plants accenting in various positions on each tier, and maybe seeing if I can get some HC or some type of moss to grow in little bundles within the crevices in some of the rock so it resembles series of a steep rocky hill/mountain sides with lianas and things trailing down the side draping over some of the cave entrances. Maybe a banana plant here and there.

All that is for the future though. There is still much work to be done. The tank has to be drained and cleaned, the fish returned to the people that currently manage the tank, etc. The part of the project that I'm working on right now is the new canopy and lighting system.