Help with Ca deficiency(?) and red plants going green - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-05-2013, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Help with Ca deficiency(?) and red plants going green

I’m new to planted tanks, and I seem to be having a micro-nutrient deficiency off the bat in my three week old tank. I was wondering if some veterans could help me out. (Please excuse the novel-length post.)

Quick summary of my tank (happy to supply more details if necessary)

40 breeder, hard tap water, low light (one 36” fugeray—my best guess is around 20-30PAR at the bottom and 50-60Par at the top of the stems), low flow (fixing this soon), aggressive CO2 injection via Rex Grigg-type reactor, pool sand-capped boiled MiracleGro Organic Potting Mix substrate, fully planted with ½ carpet plants and ½ stems off the bat, light sprinkling of green dust and diatom algae, only a few hitch-hiked snail and copepod residents.

Fertilizing routine

A good sprinkling of osmocote under the soil + (what I believe to be) standard EI with
-¼ teaspoon KNO3 + 1/16 teaspoon KH2PO4 on MWF
-1/16 teaspoon CSM+B on T,THU,SAT
-50% WC + 1/16 teaspoon K2SO4 on SUN

Problem 1
I’m seeing some white-ish leaves on some plants, particularly new growth. Most prominent is the white, “chalky” looking new leaves on my hygro sunset, which seem a bit deformed (crumpled). New growth on my Myrio mattogrosense and Hydrocoytle tripartita look a bit washed out as well. My HC looks a little white-ish and “dry” over the whole plant, but this may be because of emmersed growth/acclimation—they are very new.