The Planted Tank Forum banner

Let's play "Guess the missing nutrient"!

3K views 25 replies 13 participants last post by  Django 
#1 ·
I've got a 55gal Carbon-supplemented tank, fully cycled. New to EI, about 3 weeks. Many new plants added at that time.
Dosing:
1/4 tsp KNO3 x 3
1/8 tsp MKP x 3
1/8 tsp K2SO4 x 3
1/4 CSM+B x 3 (alternate with macros)
10mL Excel daily
1/8 iron (DPTA) on non-CSM days

My hygro old leaves are falling away due to the new tank transfer, which I expected, but they're curling. Potassium?
Water Plant Light Leaf Terrestrial plant

My (sword?) has dark veins and a dark almost-texture to them.
Plant Water Terrestrial plant Grass Flowering plant

My stem plant (what is it?) keeps losing tips, mostly on old leaves but still strong presence on new.
Flower Plant Botany Leaf Vegetation

Okay, what're your guesses?

Thanks! Jeff

See less See more
#3 ·
I am not an expert on using ferts, I generally dose less than what you're doing.

What is your lighting?

Why the excel if you're using co2? Algae control? Some plants don't do well with excel- you will see burning leaf tips, dropping leaves, etc.

In my non-professional opinion it looks like maybe too little light- too much fert dosing. Just a random guess though. Maybe one of the experts on here will chime in. :)

Good luck!

***edit*** maybe I misunderstood your post. It looks like your aren't injecting co2, that would cause all those symptoms. You could also help your plants alot with proper substrate. Large gravel usually doesnt work well.

#5 ·