The Planted Tank Forum banner

Whats your KH in your planted tank??

KH and plants

5K views 23 replies 11 participants last post by  danielt 
#1 ·
i understand that you cannot messure the co2 levels when you have 0 KH, but does this have any effect on co2, i was reading somewhere Tom said that CO2 doesnt disslove very well under 0 KH. i always thought the lower the KH the better it is for plants. i just want to hear your opnions on this, i been keeping fish and plants under these condtions for long time now. i never really seen any fish stressed under these condtions, my plants are ok too, but not the best. i just want to see if anyone is sucessfully keeping plants under 0 KH

#2 ·
I don't believe that anyone really has 0 KH because the pH of water with 0 KH would be about 4.3. I suspect that your KH is below the test limit of the test you are using. Anyway, I have no experience using such low KH water. I mix my RO with tap to get 4 deg KH.

#3 ·
I don't believe that anyone really has 0 KH because the pH of water with 0 KH would be about 4.3. I suspect that your KH is below the test limit of the test you are using. Anyway, I have no experience using such low KH water. I mix my RO with tap to get 4 deg KH.
now the real question is what if the KH was 0, how will the effect the co2 and plants. i know my test kit cannot messure lower than 6.0 PH, but API test kit for KH always change color with 1 drop. am sure KH levels are almost 0, because am using 100% RO.

#4 ·
It'll be interesting how the titration of an API alkanity kit actually works i.e. what is the chemistry theory? but a might be a patented chemistry process...

someone has a link?

Most calcium exists as a carbonate, but high hardness/low alkanity is indicative of a magnesium sulfate, phosphate or other non-carbon calcium compound?

#5 ·
Try doubling the sample water used in the test kit. Instead of 5 ml, use 10 or even 15 then count the drops to get a more accurate measurement of your kh.