The Planted Tank Forum banner

Question Fertilizing My 55 Gallon Planted Tank

6K views 23 replies 7 participants last post by  Hilde 
#1 ·
Hi,

So I have been reading up on fertilizing, and from my other threads it was suggested I need to fertilize my planted tank. Currently, I use Seachem Flourish root tabs in my sand substrate and also use Seachem Flourish Excel daily. I also have a co2 setup, which runs for 10 hours/day (same as my light cycle, using a Finnex Ray2).

I was referred to this site: Aquarium Plant Fertilizer | Green Leaf Aquariums from one of my previous posts, to add EI dosing kit from Nilocg or GreenLeafAquariums. Simple KNo3, k2so4, and kh2po4. Since I'm new to that type of fertilizer, what am I actually looking to purchase...I'm a bit confused when I go to the website as it doesn't seem that there is an all-in-one kit for people like me who are trying to learn and figure it out.

Also, with that model I have to do 50% water changes weekly? That seems like a lot of work in my apt, using 5 gallon buckets, but if that needs to be done then so be it.

1. Are dry ferts more cost effective?
2. Is using root tabs and Flourish Excel not efficient enough?
3. Can you help me understand exactly what I should purchase to help with my plants?

I have attached a picture of my updated tank.

Thanks!
Matt

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
1. Are dry ferts more cost effective?
- absolutely, no questions asked
2. Is using root tabs and Flourish Excel not efficient enough?
- Nope, you need to dose your water column, look at my 55g, that is what you can do with EI dosing.
3. Can you help me understand exactly what I should purchase to help with my plants?
You need a full EI kit, you just aren't dosing enough to keep your plants healthy.
This is what I personally bought EI based NPK + CSM+B - NilocG Aquatics
he has a complete dosing chart on the site as well.
Try to buy a python, it makes 50% water changes a breeze, I remember the days of bucket lugging.