The Planted Tank Forum banner

Talk me out of using Seachem Flourish line

11K views 38 replies 15 participants last post by  BettaBettas 
#1 ·
So I am looking at switching from using the entire Seachem Flourish line and using the EI method probably going with NilocG Thrive. It is just such a pain dosing all the different products each day and also the wallet could use a break as I should save going with the all in one. I want to know is there any downside going with the EI? Is there still a case where you may need a specific macro/micro fert? I just like the idea of doing a few squirts and being done compared to having to use my spreadsheet with the schedule everyday plus Seachem is so pricey. I am relatively new to planted tanks so like many I started with Seachem but feel I should switch. Who here switched and did your plants take to the change in a good way or bad way? I plan on continuing to use the Seachem root tabs as that is just needed every few months anyway. Thanks ahead if time.

#3 ·
There is nothing wrong with the Flourish line. They are all good sources of nutrients. Don't forget that it's not just fertilizers you will be switching. The amount you dose now will be increased SIGNIFICANTLY when using the EI method. You think Seachem Flourish line is expensive now? Try to use it dosing EI levels. :surprise:

I made a few calculations to compare prices. The mixtures are comparable to each other.

KNO3 1LB $3.00 makes 6.3 liters of Flourish Nitrogen.
6.250 liters of Flourish nitrogen costs $87

KH2PO4 1LB $5.00 makes 10.5 liters of Flourish Phosphorus.
10.5 liters of Flourish Phosphorus costs $144.94

K2SO4 1LB $3.00 makes 3.25 liters of Flourish Potassium.
3.25 liters of Flourish Potassium costs $83.30

Plantex 1 LB $12.00 makes 9.25 liters of Flourish comprehensive.
3.25 liters of Flourish Comprehensive costs $137.38

Grand total: $23 versus $452.62

5% the cost of Seachem's line