Odd parameters in 6 week old 40g - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-24-2016, 12:59 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Odd parameters in 6 week old 40g

I'm pretty new to planted aquariums and I am getting, what I think, are some odd test results. I have read through a dozen threads about KH and GH and pH and how they all affect one another. I've also read through articles on the same topics.

I am still finding myself confused about what, if anything, I need to do. A week ago, I had low pH (6.2) and no nitrates. I started dosing nitrogen and added a small bag, maybe 2 tablespoons of crushed coral to my HOB. Nitrates came up, YAY. PH was still 6.2. So on the advice of LFS, I added significantly more crushed coral, now about 1/2 cup. At the same time, I got the GH/KH test kit.

The next day, PH test was light blue indicating 7.6, so I tested with the high range test and it was 7.4 After attempting to research my specific problem, I'm left with many questions. There seems to be too many variables; tap water parameters, substrate, hardscape, ferts, tank age, and KH and GH seem to affect one another, and KH and pH are usually linked. I think my situation is unique in that KH is low, pH and GH are high.

All that being said, my fish seem pretty happy and healthy, my tank is still new, and lots of changes over a short period of time may lead to some wacky results that will even out with time. So, here are my questions:

1) Should I do anything to raise KH
2) How can I raise kH without raising pH or GH
3) Should I attempt to lower GH
4) Does any of this matter with such a new aquarium?

Test Results: Aquarium
pH - 7.4-7.6
Ammonia - 0ppm (has consistently been 0)
Nitrates - 0ppm (has consistently been 0)
Nitrates - 10-20
GH - 11 degrees
KH - 2 degree

Tap Test
pH - 6.8
GH - 3
KH - 2

Tank Specs:
40g breeder
6 weeks old
ML Penguin 350 HOB
Ecocomplete substrate