The Planted Tank Forum banner

Please check my EI dosing. Do I need to boost GH?

3K views 9 replies 3 participants last post by  Seattle_Aquarist 
#1 ·
I'm still really new to planted tanks and am looking for a little help with dosing. Some plants are doing great, some not so good. I am suspecting some sort of deficiency, possibly calcium? A number of my plants have leaves that curl down and sometimes start browning from the leaf tip or edges. This is happening mostly on my hygros and water wisteria.

Tank (about 2 months old):
29 gallon
78 degrees
Eco Complete substrate
Medium planted
Medium? lighting
7 hour photoperiod
Eheim 2215 (no carbon pad)
35% weekly water changes (with Seachem Prime)
21 female bettas, 2 small bristlenose, 3 nerites, a few MTS

Dosing:
1/2 EI dosing (was 1/3 until earlier this week)
2X Excel daily
1.5ml Seachem Iron once or twice a week
About 4 Osmocote root tabs
No CO2

Local water report:
pH 9.2
Hardness 150 mg/l (8.8 grains per gallon)
Calcium 53 mg/l

If my calculations are correct, Magnesium would be around 6 mg/l. I believe my KH is around 10 and my pH stabilizes to around 8.2 once in the tank. Would adding some Seachem Equilibrium to my tank possibly be beneficial? I can't really think of what else I could be doing wrong. The only plants in my tank that seem to be doing really well are my bulb plants (aponogeton and lily).

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Hi brandy3392,

Welcome to TPT!

Do you by any chance have a water softener in your home? Based upon the hooking downward of the leaf tips of your newer leaves and the pronounced hooking on your older leaves I would diagnose a calcium deficiency, however if your water is actually 58ppm Ca as indicated by your water district it just doesn't seem possible unless the Ca is in a form unavailable to the plants.