The Planted Tank Forum banner

Well water with water softener

1K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  Smooch 
#1 ·
Hello all. I'm new to the planted tank world and trying to do my research before I set my new tank up. I have a well with a water softener. I wanted to see if this water is ok for a planted tank. I haven't done any water test. If someone can direct me on what to check for or if their is a kit I can purchase I have no problem doing that. I would also greatly appreciate anyone telling me what the ideal water conditions should be in a high tech tank. Thanks for the patience on the new guy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 ·
You'd be better off using the water from your hose, which should not be connected to the softener. The softener replaces calcium and magnesium (which plants need) with sodium (which most plants cannot tolerate much of). Api master test kit is the way to go plus you might want to pick up gh/kh tests

#7 ·
Test the well water.:proud:

We use only well water now.
Filter the water with a filter sock contraption.
We catch the water before it hits the softener.
The Bubble bee gobies like the hardness of the water with fresh water changes.
The fat supposed females are usually colorful, but the thinner bodied bumblebee gobies get more color back from the fresh well water for sure. The fresh minerals have to have salts as well. I need to find out where I'm at as for salts in the well water for curiousity's sake and the gobies. We've had them for about 2 years now with well water.

Sooo, In the Johnny-rigged contraption-
An old pump pumping water over a big clean Brute trash can.
Garbage can and a sock basically.

Our well water stained orange filter sock cleans out in the wash machine.
We tried using foam hydro sponges to clean up the orange grit, but the gritty orange stuff (possibly iron) was getting iffy to deal with in comparison to the sock.

A simple sock holder will work, but our stronger pump blasted the sock too much.