Seachem Excel Question - The Planted Tank Forum
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2016, 06:03 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Seachem Excel Question

I use Excel on my new tank and I have zero experience with this product save for the three weeks I've been using it. It seems to work as my tank should be an algae farm by now without it even though the growth rate of my plants is middling. I'm planning on going to full EI dosing now that I have my water change rig all set up and I'm wondering about the Excel instructions from Seachem requiring a massive dose with any 50% water change. Supposedly around here people usually skip this "starter dose" and dose double what is recommended by Seachem. Can anybody shed some light on this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2016, 06:08 AM
Planted Tank Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodbytes View Post
I use Excel on my new tank and I have zero experience with this product save for the three weeks I've been using it. It seems to work as my tank should be an algae farm by now without it even though the growth rate of my plants is middling. I'm planning on going to full EI dosing now that I have my water change rig all set up and I'm wondering about the Excel instructions from Seachem requiring a massive dose with any 50% water change. Supposedly around here people usually skip this "starter dose" and dose double what is recommended by Seachem. Can anybody shed some light on this?
Hi goodbytes,

Actually the Initial Dose after a water change is to bring the level of available carbon back to the level it was before the water change....after all you just removed 50%...yes I do the Initial Dose after water changes.

Roy