Going with dry ferts - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-11-2016, 11:35 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Going with dry ferts

Hey everyone. I've been using flourish and Pferts liquid ferts ever since I've had plants. I think it's time to switch over to dry as it takes a lot for my 125g.

Im a complete newb to this, but know I need micros and macros.

My question is how much do I use for each, and how often to dose what? I have a 125g discus tank that gets a 75 to 80% water change every Thursday and Sunday. This has been a great schedule for keeping my discus healthy and growing.

I do not do c02 in this tank. Lighting is 2 36" finnex planted plus 24/7s on 24 hour cycle.

Any help with this, and where the cheapest place to get is? Do you guys keep the ferts in containers? Thanks!

Using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-11-2016, 01:04 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

I am in Canada, so I can't help you with where to buy dry fertilizers (assuming you are in the U.S.). I am sure that others can help with that. I use small containers to store a portion of the fertilizer for easy use and pack away the larger bags containing my stock of fertilizer. I use baby food jars, but any jar would work.

As for dosing, how heavily planted is your tank, and with what kind of plants. Also, what kind of dosing schedule are you on now? Would it be possible to provide a picture?
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-11-2016, 01:10 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

That's the tank currently. Amazon Swords, wisteria, Java fern, and anubius.

I think I'm gonna go through green leaf aquariums to purchase. I'm just not sure how often or how much to dose.

Water changes of 75 to 80% occur every Thursday and Sunday, pretty religiously.

Using Tapatalk
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-11-2016, 01:12 PM
Planted Tank Guru