The Planted Tank Forum banner

Tank Build - 46 Bow

4K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  bigboij 
#1 ·
Hello all, I'll start by introducing myself. I'm completely new to planted tanks, but had been into reef tanks for about 5 years. I took my reef tank down about a year ago due to time and money constraints.

I've decided to start a new tank, and the planted tanks have really caught my eye...I get to keep the delicateness and ecosystem of a reef tank, but with a lot less cost!

Anyway, I've bought a 46 gallon bow tank, and am building the stand from scratch. I've scoured threads online for ideas, and below is what I plan to build, from which I've combined others' ideas.

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·
This is looking very promising! What do you plan to skin it with? And, have you considered using a parallelogram linkage hidden inside the hood, spring loaded, so you can lift it easily to make maintenance easier, with the light still shining down into the tank?

#6 ·
This is looking very promising! What do you plan to skin it with? And, have you considered using a parallelogram linkage hidden inside the hood, spring loaded, so you can lift it easily to make maintenance easier, with the light still shining down into the tank?

Thanks for the comments! I'm going to skim the stand with a flexible thin plywood and paint it with a darker textured spraypaint. My goal is to capture the eye at the tank, and not at the stand.

I was considering using a spring-loaded stay hinge similar to what you would see on a toy chest.
I do really like your idea though! Is there anything like that available or pictures of something someone has done?
I could create a 4-bar linkage as you suggest that would lift out, up, and back so that it is raised directly above the tank when I need to do maintenance.

#8 ·