The Planted Tank Forum banner

Tay's 20g high journal (New pics May 25th)

3K views 26 replies 13 participants last post by  nemosreef 
#1 · (Edited)
This will be my first journal so please be kind. :icon_smil

I started this tank with a gift card I got for Christmas and it's been running since the first week of January.

Lighting Two 26 watt CFL 6500K Daylights, 8 hours a day
Substrate Flourite
Filter Aquaclear 50

Plants Cryptocoryne tropica, Vallisneria Spiralis, Dwarf Sags and Amazon Sword

Fish 6 Serpae Tetra, a couple ramshorn and a MTS or two

I have no CO2 or Ferts, though I suspect I will be needing to get some ferts in the future.

I'm rather new at this live plant thing so I'm not really sure to watch out for. So far I can tell that my sags and crypts are melting. I'm under the impression that it is common for melts to happen after shipping and being newly replanted. Is it just a sit and wait sort of thing or do I need to be doing something?

I was also quite the dummy and forgot to rinse my plants and ended up with what looks like hydra. There seems to be slightly less than yesterday so I am hoping they will go away with water changes.

Stocking Plans 6 serpae tetra, 6 marbled hatchets, 1 keyhole cichlid and possibly 4 cories

Any advice, suggestions and criticisms are welcome. Please keep in mind that this was just planted on 1/26/10.

See less See more
#2 ·
Folks on this forum are excepionally kind... ;)

This looks like a good start. The light does not require you to have CO2 I don't think. You could dose some Ecxel, that almost never hurts. Just don't over dose it, your vals will melt otherwise.
The sword could be a little on the large side for a 20, the can get large. Keep in mind, that these kind of plants are typically grown emersed and then sold as aquatic plants. They typically recover nicely, you just have to know that all emersed leaves will die. Be patient there.