Adding Fish - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-31-2008, 04:44 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
kala201's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Aiea, HI
Posts: 25
Adding Fish

I setup my first fully planted tank and was wondering when I am able to add fish to it? A salesman at my local pet store told me that I should wait at least 3 months before adding any fish? Is this true? So far I have had my tank setup for almost a month and half. It has no CO2 of any kind although I do dose it with Excel once a week.
kala201 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-31-2008, 03:53 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast
Bugman's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 792
Wow......three months? Have you done any testing of your water? Your worry is the ammonia and Nitrite levels. If you don't have a test kit, take a sample of your tank water to your lfs and they will probably test it for you. In a heavily planted tank I start adding fish in about a weeks time because the plants take care of the ammonia and nitrite. Since you say the tank is "fully planted" I would bet that after a month and a half you should have no issues adding fish slowly, but since you are new getting the water tested is advisable.
Bugman is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-01-2008, 04:41 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
kala201's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Aiea, HI
Posts: 25

Hawaii's water is very clean and has very little to no nitrates and ammonia. We use our tap water for daily drinking and cooking. I guess perhaps I'll start adding some corys and work my way from there. Thanks.
kala201 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-01-2008, 04:43 AM
Wannabe Guru
Ebichua's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,708
Tap water shouldn't contain ammonia or nitrate to begin with. Or else water changes would be pointless.
The point of having a time period of no livestock is because the tank needs to cycle. In order to cycle, you need some kind of ammonia source to start it all up. If the tank was just sitting with nothing in there, then it probably didn't really start any sort of cycle. You may want to check your water parameters before you start adding stuff.
Ebichua is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-01-2008, 05:44 AM
Algae Grower
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: honolulu high.
Posts: 71
exactly what ebichua said(no bio load no cycle start).. being from hawaii as well kala dont be scared to silent cycle our water is pretty cherry . especially if your tanks heavily planted.. just check params just in case your tanks mad acidic. but id think youd be okay GL
midnightk is offline  

new tank, when to add fish

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome