Getting a 75g! - The Planted Tank Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-06-2014, 01:46 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: York , PA
Posts: 36
Getting a 75g!

Stumbled onto a complete 75 setup on craigslist and should have it this week. No sure on specifics on the led lights, or type of filters etc...but I was told it is about a year old tank. Fingers crossed all is well with it.

I'm taking it slow this time with my set up. I ve learnd a lot with my 10s and my 36 bow front.
I made a huge mistake with the bow front in having super thick layers of miracle grow organic, flourite, then gravel....so deep it still burps up gasses and stem plants are not always happy...

So, this time around I am planning on about an inch of miracle grow organic?

Maybe a layer of flourite, about an inch?

But instead of gravel, thinking of going with sand...is one type better than another?

Any guesses on how many bags of each?

Thanks all!
ShannanD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-06-2014, 02:22 AM
Algae Grower
 
TDerivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 139
Well a 1" layer in a 75 is almost 900 cubic inches and a 20# bag of gravel is about 500 cubic inches. I hope that is some help.
TDerivan is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-06-2014, 02:24 AM
Algae Grower
 
TDerivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 139
Oh, and as far as sand goes, I prefer a mix of play sand and a sugar-fine sand that is made by Nature's Ocean. I use that mix as my only substrate in my 33 gallon planted tank and the plants never complain.
TDerivan is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-06-2014, 02:54 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 304
If you are capping Flourite with sand it will most likely work its way towards the surface. You can cap dirt with sand leaving out the Flourite layer.
Tzac is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-14-2014, 03:55 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: York , PA
Posts: 36
Well I had planned on getting the tank until the ice storm and downed trees ate my piggyback....

But it is what I want and will have. Should I make the top layer of sand deeper than one inch to ensure the dirt doesn't work it's way up?

Thanks for the help too!
ShannanD is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome