The Planted Tank Forum banner

First Planted (Low-tech) Tank

4K views 28 replies 15 participants last post by  Saxtonhill 
#1 ·
Hey guys, I am planning on starting a Low-tech planted tank. A little background on myself, I have been keeping fish for roughly 8 years and have kept everything from peaceful communities, aggressive cichlid communities, FOWLR, and eventually a full blown nano-reef. After realizing how expensive the saltwater stuff was, I got out after about two years. Seeing some of the tanks on ADA got me interested in planted tanks, and the thought of having such a nice looking tank with such little maintenance seems really appealing to me.

Here's what I plan on working with:
Tank: 15 gallon (24"x12x12)
Light: Coralife 67k 24 watt C4 bulb (is this enough?)
Substrate: I am looking for a dirt substrate that will not require a lot of sifting or waiting like MGOCPM does. I really do not want to spend a lot of time sifting through dirt and what not.
For my substrate cap, I am looking for something black or dark brown. Again, open to suggestions.
Plant stocking: Still not sure. I am going to go to my LFS tomorrow or wednesday to see what they have, and then decide from there.
Fish: Small school of tetras or rasboras and a school of corys. Maybe I will eventually add a centerpiece fish, but I am in no rush.

So, here are my questions:
1. Will my lighting (single 24w 67k Coralife T5 be enough. 24" bulb)
2. What type of dirt is easiest to work with? I dont really want to spend a lot of time prepping the dirt.
3. What is a good substrate cap that is black or dark brown? Eco-Complete?
4. Any other tips for someone new to planted tanks? I have been lurking for a while, but any advice helps.

Thanks, and Im excited to getting this tank set up!

See less See more
#2 ·