Change of direction .... Workable? - The Planted Tank Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-13-2013, 12:49 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 740
Change of direction .... Workable?

I have a 90g high tech moderately to heavily planted tank that I just don't love. Its just not the right time for me for this tank. So its a standard 90g, with 3 48 inch T5H0 lamps raised 1 inch, CO2 with drop checker, EI, and sand substrate. I want to get rid of the bulk of the plants and Co2. Instead if possible wouldn't mind having this tank low tech wtih my melon sword, anubias, and a monster of a Aponogeton Ulvaceus. How can I run my light fixture to keep these plants without Co2 and not have tons of algae? Also does low tech change the EI dosing regime? Thanks

mcaquatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-13-2013, 02:22 AM
Fear the Swamp!
 
cah925's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 2,510
Try running just one or two bulbs, also reduce the duration/time the lights are on. Ferts should be cut back too. You will have to play with this to find a good balance with the new system. If you have a plain sand substrate, you could always cut out the EI and use root tabs instead. Some K may still need to be added though.
cah925 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-13-2013, 02:44 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 740
thanks for the input. I was thinking about only running one or two bulbs, but I really like how my bulbs compliment each other. If I lift the lights 5 or 6 inches do you think I could run all three? Also it is plain sand.
mcaquatic is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-13-2013, 12:49 PM
Wannabe Guru
 
Zorfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcaquatic View Post
I was thinking about only running one or two bulbs, but I really like how my bulbs compliment each other. If I lift the lights 5 or 6 inches do you think I could run all three? Also it is plain sand.
Have you read Hoppy's sticky in the lighting section, Lighting an Aquarium with PAR instead of Watts? Using all three bulbs suspended depends on the bulb brand and ballasts. You can put window screen over the surface to reduce the par value by 30% as well if you want to keep the same colors. My guess is that all three would be too much for a low tech but it depends on those variables. Otherwise nice looking tank!
Zorfox is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-14-2013, 02:05 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 740
I guess what i could do as a compromise is lift the lights five inches and run Co2 on a medium set up. This way I should be able to run my lights, keep the plants I like, and not have too much of a head ache. Or at least it sounds good.
mcaquatic is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-19-2013, 10:51 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 740
ok I am going to try the acrylic risers. Would you go with the five inch or 7 inch? If I go 7 inch do I risk going low light? I think based on the chart I would be ok.
mcaquatic is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 03:50 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 740
any thoughts?
mcaquatic is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 04:54 AM
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 20,536
What brand lights do you have? Is it one fixture with 3 bulbs, or what?

Hoppy
Hoppy is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 09:47 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppy View Post
What brand lights do you have? Is it one fixture with 3 bulbs, or what?
its a catalina fixture that contains 3 bulbs. it is not the extra wide housing. I am running midday, aqua flora, and wavepoint red bulbs.
mcaquatic is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 03:24 AM
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 20,536
You can't expect to get low light with that fixture raised only 6 inches. Each bulb is probably giving you about 30 micromols of PAR when 28 inches from the substrate. That alone is good low light. Even two bulbs might put you in the high medium light area. To be sure what PAR you are getting you will need to get a PAR meter or a lux meter to measure the actual intensity at that distance.

Hoppy
Hoppy is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 740
Thanks hoppy. I mentioned in an earlier post I will do this as a medium light with Co2. I want to move away from the high light.
mcaquatic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome