big brown block! - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: piscataway nj
Posts: 19
big brown block!

good day all , been reading up on here for awhile and decided to dirt my 55 gallon, low light low tech, on top of the soil i have blasting media. i set the tank up this weekend nothing special some, watersprite, java fern , penny wort, a sword plant some anubius on driftwood, also got talked into some anachris but i'm afraid that may melt if it starts to i'll just toss in for the for the silver dollars in my 125.
any way i'll cut to the chase the blasting media cap is about 3/4 of an inch i filled the tank very slowly and let it settle till yesterday it was nice and clear, last night i fired the filter up a rena xp4 all seemed well . i had to leave early this morning and the light was off but the tank looked darker, when i got home to my lighted tank it's cloudy brown could part of the soil be seeping through the cap? didn't i use enough cap? will it settle down should add some carbon or finer sponges to filter it out? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
spifff is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-10-2013, 02:26 AM
Algae Grower
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 116
as long as the output was not pointed into the substrate, i don't see why it would murk up like that. has it cleared? or was there something inside the xp4? if not, you'll have to wait for someone with blasting sand experience as i only have playsand.
caoder is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-12-2013, 03:07 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: piscataway nj
Posts: 19
did a huge water change today it's nice and clear now but the filter is off guess i'm gonna switch to one of my big HOB's the rena just seems too powerful.
spifff is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-13-2013, 01:35 AM
Planted Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 290
You need more sand. I have like 1.5 to 2 inch cap on mine. 30 gallon. Didn't have much problems. I have one 2.5 gallon that I didn't put enough sand in, and it got all brown for about a week. I had to dump it and cap with about an inch.

Also, soil takes a lot of patience. Once plants get going they will go, but don't expect an immediate response.
Fishumms is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-13-2013, 01:46 AM
Algae Grower
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 71
I'm having this same problem right now. I think when I do the water change tomorrow I'm going to add more cap. Good luck to you!
amajoh is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-13-2013, 08:24 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 330
Also if the soil was dry when you put it in, you will get occasional 'eruptions' of air from the substrate that can bring soil with it.
If the HOB doesn't solve the issue, you may need a little bit more blasting media to keep the soil submerged.
Beer is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome