Can i grow dwarf hairgrass - The Planted Tank Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-26-2012, 02:29 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ny
Posts: 49
Can i grow dwarf hairgrass

Hi, i have a well established 29 gallon tank
Eco complete substrate
48 watt t5 ho
Dose flourish exel 1 time a week
No co2

Do you think it will work
Fishe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-26-2012, 03:12 AM
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 20,261
What specific light do you have? I assume it is a two bulb T5HO light. Some of those would give way too much light for a 29 gallon tank, while a couple would give low medium light, unless they were a few inches above the top of the tank.

You would need to fertilize the tank water and/or the substrate to have much chance of growing any plants. Eco Complete does not contain NPK, the major nutrients plants need.

Hoppy
Hoppy is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-26-2012, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ny
Posts: 49
I have a 30 inch, 2 bulb, nova extreme t5 ho. 1 6500k and 1 10,000k
Raised about 3 inches on legs. I dose flourIsh excel and flourish trace elements
Fishe is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-26-2012, 11:20 AM
Algae Grower
 
Rexthecrayfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 25
i have some dwarf hairgrass in my lowtech 5.5gal rcs tank. its not so much spreading but its growing. so i'd say you'd be alright.

30g community and 5.5g RCS
Check out my tanks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/graysonk...e=results_main
Rexthecrayfish is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-26-2012, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ny
Posts: 49
I can up fertilizing if needed
Fishe is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 02:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ny
Posts: 49
Bump
Fishe is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 04:00 AM
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 20,261
You probably have medium light, so you will need CO2 to keep the plants growing as fast as the light is driving them to grow. That is a desirable situation, where limiting the growth rate by under supplying any nutrient, including CO2, isn't desirable at all - algae often take over when that is the situation.

Hoppy
Hoppy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome