when to add fish? - The Planted Tank Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 06:18 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 29
when to add fish?

I started a walstad method 40g breeder tank this past friday. I used MCOP and black diamond for my cap. The main question I have is when do you add your fish? I know some add fish right away, but I was warned with MCOP I will have a ammonia swing as the soil decomposes. Should I wait until after the swing...and also is it better to do water changes during that period or to let the tank stable itself?
wetrelief is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 12:06 PM
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 12,444
You don't add fish until your tank has completed the initial cycle. When ammonia and nitrite are at zero.

You'll have to make sure you're providing an ammonia source for the bacteria to grow during that time.
somewhatshocked is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 29
Thank You. Is household ammonia a good source? Also what would be the dosage rate for a 40g tank?
wetrelief is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 04:57 PM
Invert Addict
 
dougolasjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 859
Send a message via Skype™ to dougolasjr
You really want an Ammonia without any surfactants. Not sure on the dosage.

BAMA AGAIN!!!
ROLL TIDE ROLL!!!
-Doug
dougolasjr is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 29
thanks
wetrelief is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 05:37 PM
Invert Addict
 
dougolasjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 859
Send a message via Skype™ to dougolasjr
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetrelief View Post
thanks
Check out the link below.

http://www.wikihow.com/Do-a-Fishless-Cycle

BAMA AGAIN!!!
ROLL TIDE ROLL!!!
-Doug
dougolasjr is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 08:31 PM
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 96
Your substrate should have enough ammonia to start the cycle. Even potting mix has ammonia in it. You have to make sure you have a bit of circulation in the tank so that the bacteria colonies have O2 to survive and multiply. I say keep an eye on your ammonia levels...
Matt1977 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 09:54 PM
Wannabe Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,748
usually 4-6 weeks
Green_Flash is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 10:01 PM
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,058
As dougolas said, make sure the ammonia you have, has no surfactants or any other additives. It will likely be a 10% ammonia solution with water.

Test your water to see if your substrate has leached any ammonia - if so, and you have a reading of between 2 and 4 ppms, that should be good to get things started.

Test every couple of days, and should it test out at 1 ppm or less, then add some ammonia - try 2 or 3 teaspoons of the 10% ammonia solution which should be good for your 40 gal to test out @ around 3-4 ppms. Keep adding a couple of tspns of ammonia every time the test shows the ammonia level in the tank has dropped to 1 ppm.

It will very likely take from 4 to 6 weeks to go through the entire cycle, during which nitrites will have peaked and reduced, and your water has developed a reading for nitrates.
When your tank tests 0 for both ammonia & nitrites within 12 hours or so of adding the last batch of ammonia - you'll be good to go. Just do a good-sized water change at that point to reduce the nitrates level.
discuspaul is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-08-2012, 07:56 AM
Wannabe Guru
 
Django's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MA
Posts: 1,072
I'd like to add another option. If you have a heavily or moderately planted tank, or can buy a lot of fast growers, that's all you have to do. The plants will take care of the ammonia. I did it after my fish food cycle stalled.
Django is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome