Top-off questions - The Planted Tank Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 04:48 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 29
Top-off questions

I have a question on topping off a tank. From my saltwater days I have an auto top-off system laying around that I am think of incorporating into my system. My main question is should the water be conditioned at all before addition into the tank (outside of treating the tap)? This will be a walstad method tank. What is the proper procedure for top-off? thanks.
wetrelief is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 01:01 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England
Posts: 356
Condition from tap. Add water. Done!

Fraternity of dirt no. 60.

Got a tank? Doing it filterless? Add it here!

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=221729
PaulG is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 03:18 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 29
thank you!
wetrelief is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 03:30 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England
Posts: 356
And obviously ensure it's the correct temp, not as big an issue if it's only a top off though.

Fraternity of dirt no. 60.

Got a tank? Doing it filterless? Add it here!

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=221729
PaulG is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 03:59 PM
Wannabe Guru
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 1,060
What an advantage to have an auto top-off device! I'd say utilize it! As Paul was saying, top-offs are not a big deal with FW tanks. I like to let my water sit overnight if possible, just because I think after I've treated it, it still needs a little time to age and release icky stuff. But that's just me. Plus, then with the dechlor the TDS tend to conglomerate and sink to the bottom of the bucket in our incredibly hard water.
HighDesert is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 04:30 PM
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,082
You should condition it to remove trace elements such as chlorine lead nickel blah blah blah

Store it in room temperature blah blah blah leave it sitting or agitate the water surface to release chlorine into the air blah blah blah
AVN is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 04:34 PM
Wannabe Guru
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 1,060
You forgot the most important detail... introduce slowly into the tank, blah blah blah... ;-)
HighDesert is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 04:48 PM
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,082
introduce slowly?!

just dump the entire reserve in the tank.

WITHOUT REMOVING ANY WATER FIRST
AVN is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 05:27 PM
Planted Tank Guru
 
OverStocked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoDak
Posts: 10,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulG View Post
And obviously ensure it's the correct temp, not as big an issue if it's only a top off though.
Nonsense. The water that flows into my tanks is 20-30 degrees colder. Not only are my fish and plants thriving, it stimulates breeding in my cichlids.

This isn't 1950. We've learned a lot of things over the years. I've never had a loss due to temp change, particularly cold change. HOT water could, as it is devoid of oxygen and animals are more sensitive to high temps than low. But in a top off system it is adding tiny amounts so it is isn't relevant at all.
OverStocked is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 05:28 PM
Planted Tank Guru
 
OverStocked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoDak
Posts: 10,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighDesert View Post
You forgot the most important detail... introduce slowly into the tank, blah blah blah... ;-)
Slowly? You'd hate to see Orlando's video of the 100% water change that dumps hundreds of gallons in at a time.

I fill my tanks WIDE open.
OverStocked is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 05:44 PM
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,082
I would like to comment that the last three or four posts weren't done seriously...

Or at least I'd like to think so.
AVN is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 06:11 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverStocked View Post
Nonsense. The water that flows into my tanks is 20-30 degrees colder. Not only are my fish and plants thriving, it stimulates breeding in my cichlids.

This isn't 1950. We've learned a lot of things over the years. I've never had a loss due to temp change, particularly cold change. HOT water could, as it is devoid of oxygen and animals are more sensitive to high temps than low. But in a top off system it is adding tiny amounts so it is isn't relevant at all.
Your single anecdote has convinced me.

Fraternity of dirt no. 60.

Got a tank? Doing it filterless? Add it here!

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=221729
PaulG is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 06:18 PM
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,082
Just pour tap water straight into your tank bro
AVN is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 04:19 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 29
Thanks for the posts. I see we have some jokers

The pump for my top-off is slow so no worries there.
The reservoir will be "heated" by ambient room temp ~77F.
And of coarse the water will be treated via "prime" or other type product and will aerate in a tub for a day prior to use.
wetrelief is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-14-2012, 01:42 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Silmarwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 427
I have to admit, sometimes I don't know what to do with all these 'top offs' and 'water changes'... We had our 55 gallon that we would always empty, and I feel like I remember just refilling it from the hose. I assume my parents treated it somehow, but I don't ever remember losing fish because of it. Granted, I was 10, but I'd remember if dad would bring home a new bag of fish after every time we changed the water, wouldn't I? haha. It's all made me so paranoid about my own water changes/top-offs, though. I'm petrified I'm going to kill everything immediately if I don't follow every recommended step to the letter every single time.

"Aquariums are like science, art, and hypno-therapy, all rolled into one," I insisted.
"You're not putting a hundred gallon tank in the living room," my roommate replied.


10g "Community" of nothing but Danios - 2g (barely) planted Betta - 2.5g Betta - 1g Pond Snail Repository

My aquascape style tends towards 'tall in the back, short in the front, lots and lots of green and stuff. And maybe a rock somewhere...'
Silmarwen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome