will stock do??? - The Planted Tank Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-06-2012, 03:13 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: piscataway nj
Posts: 19
will stock do???

good day all a few months ago i mentioned i wanted to start a 55 gal low tech low light tank. well our move to NJ is complete and almost time to start that tank, i'm doing my 125 this week that's for africans, so the 55 is next up! so here we go maybe i should've posted this in the light forum but that section always confuses me so here it is my tank was bought as a replacement it's wal mart kit the stock lights still survive the inside is a dull white been thinking about upgrading but if i don't have to and i can just get new bulbs that would be my choicew at least for now. i was thinking about going to a double strip if i do that what bulbs should i use? i'm open for suggestions.
thanks
Dave
spifff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-06-2012, 05:19 PM
Wannabe Guru
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 1,945
Your Lighting Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by spifff View Post
good day all a few months ago i mentioned i wanted to start a 55 gal low tech low light tank. well our move to NJ is complete and almost time to start that tank, i'm doing my 125 this week that's for africans, so the 55 is next up! so here we go maybe i should've posted this in the light forum but that section always confuses me so here it is my tank was bought as a replacement it's wal mart kit the stock lights still survive the inside is a dull white been thinking about upgrading but if i don't have to and i can just get new bulbs that would be my choicew at least for now. i was thinking about going to a double strip if i do that what bulbs should i use? i'm open for suggestions.
thanks
Dave
Hello spif...

Check out Solarmax Lighting. They have a nice, two T5 bulb and LED strip that is fairly inexpensive and works well. I have several 55 Gs and use these strips on my moderate light tanks.

B

"Fear not my child, just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-06-2012, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: piscataway nj
Posts: 19
i saw those on the bay i was thinking about it, as long as they are not too bright i want nothing to with Co2 at the moment.
Dave
spifff is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-07-2012, 01:54 AM
Planted Tank Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 10,991
A stock light that only holds one bulb (T-8 or T-12) is not enough even for a low tech tank.
I run my 45 gallon tanks (4' long, but not as deep as a 55) using any of several fixtures, but they all have at least 2 bulbs.
My 72 gallon bowfront (4' long, 2' deep) has 2 of home depot shop light fixtures with 2 bulbs each (4 bulbs total), and some direct sun. It is barely more than low light. (Better reflectors are my next project)

I use a mix of bulbs, including 'daylight', 'cool white', 'plant and aquarium' and some others.
Diana is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-13-2012, 06:20 PM
Wannabe Guru
 
Knotyoureality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by spifff View Post
i saw those on the bay i was thinking about it, as long as they are not too bright i want nothing to with Co2 at the moment.
Dave
It's alot easier (and cheaper) to bring too-high light levels down than the reverse. Buy higher than you think you'll need, then you have the option of adding diffuser screens, floating plants or just increasing the height from the tank. Thanks to a slow learning curve, I've got a whole stack of lights/light bars that aren't being used thanks to buying too low, moving to a deeper tank and wanting to increase the types of plants I can grow. Shoulda' gone with the more powerful system from the start.
Knotyoureality is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-13-2012, 09:49 PM
Algae Grower
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knotyoureality View Post
It's alot easier (and cheaper) to bring too-high light levels down than the reverse. Buy higher than you think you'll need, then you have the option of adding diffuser screens, floating plants or just increasing the height from the tank. Thanks to a slow learning curve, I've got a whole stack of lights/light bars that aren't being used thanks to buying too low, moving to a deeper tank and wanting to increase the types of plants I can grow. Shoulda' gone with the more powerful system from the start.
Hey Knotyoureality, if you want to get rid of some of that stack of lights, let me know
mocha2184 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome