Substrate recommendations - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-19-2011, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 29
Substrate recommendations

I am setting up a 20g low tech planted tank. I want to put in black sand but am not sure how to set up a sand substrate.
JaggedDanger is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-19-2011, 10:24 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast
Kibblemania1414's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville, illinios
Posts: 747
just make sure you soak the sand... i think.
try to get all the cloudyness out

Happy plantkeeping!
check it out!!!! -->
Kibblemania1414 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-19-2011, 11:11 PM
Wannabe Guru
msawdey's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,009
ya make sure you rinse it in a big bucket... easiest way to do this is using a very think strainer. But place in the bucket, fill with water and stir it up.. use the strainer to pull it out. With sand, you bound to have some cloudiness no matter what

-Just another day in paradise-
msawdey is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-20-2011, 12:45 AM
Wannabe Guru
demonr6's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: florida
Posts: 1,242
I am sure you have one but if you don't by now, buy yourself a bucket that will only be used for water changes and has never had any detergents or other harmful chemicals in it. Dump the sand into the bucket and run water through it. Pour out the excess a little at a time until it runs clean.

The Fraternity of Dirt #5
I'm dirty

My Finnex 4 Tank Journal-RETIRED 20L Rimless Journal 55L Journal- 06/2012

.sdrawkcab dootsrednu tub sdrawrof devil si efiL
demonr6 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-23-2011, 12:09 AM
Algae Grower
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Glen Burnie,MD
Posts: 122
The first tank I did with plants years ago was done with sand for a 55 gallon. I was soo tired after cleaning the sand that I swore never to use it again! LOL! That was some unusually dirty sand at that time. Sure learned my lesson!

(Don't use very dirty sand if you can help it!)

The most recent tank that I did has black Eco-complete in it. There's no rinsing involved, just add it right from the bag! Considering that I've never used Eco- before I'm very satisfied with it.

Martin_G is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-23-2011, 02:14 AM
Algae Grower
cybercat's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Greeneville, TN
Posts: 50
I used florite black with flourite black sand. Easy way to clean it is get a 5gal bucket and a hose. Pour in substrate and fill with hose, as water rises keep hose in substrate and move it around, let water overflow top of bucket while doing this. I did this in my bathtub but have also done it outside. It makes flush substrate alot faster then rinse and pour and fill and repeate.
cybercat is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome