The Planted Tank Forum banner

plants melting

2K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  zackg337 
#1 ·
please help!? i am new to the hobby and really admire these beautiful planted tanks. i went out and got some dirt for under the fluorite substrate. for the plants i have anubius, amazon sword, crypts, dwarf sag, corkscrew val and java moss. heres the problem, i set up my tank about a week ago and dwarf sag and val and the sword are just melting. i am currently using a liquid co2 and I'm wondering if a diy co2 system would improve? also the tank i bought was a kit so it came with an led light.. could that be the problem? the light is not strong enough? or is all of this just something these plants got through trying to adjust to these conditions.. thanks in advance guys!

#2 ·
Can you post pics? Please also post complete specs and water parameters of your setup.

#3 ·
Dwarf sag does just fine in a low light tank. I would not increase your lighting yet. Many plants melt when they are adjusting to new environments. I would give it a little longer to adapt to your water parameters. In my experience liquid CO2 can sometimes cause some melting if you are overdosing or the plant is not used to glutaraldehyde.

Either way, give it some time to see if it recovers. If other plants start having issues, photos would help solve the issue.

#4 ·
I quit using excel because it was affecting my italian val and vesuvius sword.

#5 ·
maybe I'm just overdosing the
dwarf sag looks bad
idk if you can see these tiny pieces of val back here but they're like an inch. looks like some new growth though.

oh and sorry for the bad pics. i have no camera so I'm using Photo Booth on my macbook

Attachments

#6 ·
It's hard to tell exactly what's going on from those pictures, but regardless there are few common issues you might be experiencing.