Simple question about using a single CFL in a 5 gallon tank - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-26-2015, 10:35 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
Simple question about using a single CFL in a 5 gallon tank

I'm new to aquariums in general and I've done a bit of research on this but I'm having a hard time getting a straight answer. I have a 5 gallon tank with a cheap incandescent hood with a single 15 watt 6500K CFL. I know that in general this will work to grow plants but I also know that the standard WPG "rule" doesn't apply with CFLs. What I don't know is how bright this setup would be considered in terms of plant selection. Would it be medium light? Low? Makes it hard to buy plants when I don't know how much light to estimate they're getting! Anyway, any guidance would be helpful!
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-26-2015, 11:05 PM
Are these real?
Welcome to the Planted Tank!

If this a true 15W CFL, then this means it is a 60W "equivalent" bulb, which would put your tank in a medium to high light range.

Slight variations with the distance to the water surface, whether you use a glass/plexi cover, whether that one is dirty, etc.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-27-2015, 12:02 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
I was under the impression that since watts per gallon was developed for fluorescent lights it was based on the actual wattage not the equivalent wattage.
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-27-2015, 01:15 AM
Planted Tank Guru
Put "in other words"...
A typical rimmed 10g tank works very well/w one 13W CFL bulb in a vertical position.
Your set up however has the bulb in a horizontal position?
Check this...

You should not go by that "low light" tag they put on that. Rather go by the description of light levels given by Hoppy in this thread.
Lighting an Aquarium with PAR instead of Watts