The Planted Tank Forum banner

Lighting question

2K views 15 replies 4 participants last post by  clownplanted 
#1 ·
Hello everyone, I have a 55g (20"Tall standard setup) that I turned into my first sort of successful planted tank. I have lots of plants that grew great (like my Anacharis that I have to prune every 8-10 days). But some of my plants are just not growing or doing so well. My Amazon swords have just not grown (in fact they have slowly been dying) and my wisterias are really bare and empty looking. My current setup is a 48"-60" Current LED + and I was thinking about swapping it for a Finnex planted 24/7 LED setup to get a bit more light and see if my plants will turn a bit sturdier looking. I am aiming for medium light while dosing weekly and no CO2.

Do you guys think the Finnex planted 24/7 LED is the way to go? (attached is a picture of my tank, I am sorry if I didn't communicate the information correctly, I am fairly new to the hobby and english is my 2nd language)

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
I am by no means an expert, but I do have the 24/7 and it will definitely be an upgrade to a Current +. If the 24/7 proves to be too little light you could use both lights in conjunction. Have you considered dosing Metricide as a Co2 supplement? It's a no go for the Anachris but would be good for the rest of your plants and will allow you to get away with more light with less fear of algae.

#5 ·
I placed about 2 root tabs under each amazon and they just didn't thrive for some reason. Before my planted tank I had a few in a 90 g fresh water setup and in there they sent runners...So I have no idea what I did back then versus now. Could it be that maybe I over fed them?

#7 ·